Experiences

Mi-Carême Mask Painting Experience

Youth learn about the Acadian Tradition of La Mi-Carême.

$25, Min 1 - Max 10 per experience
Youth (6-16) only - Parents are not required to stay.
2 Hours in length, 10 am and 1pm

This experience is designed as a fun two hours for youth, to learn about the tradition of La Mi-Carême where they will explore the exhibit, enjoy being creative when they design their own mask and then put it together with a costume. At the end of the experience participants will have an opportunity to have their picture taken with other Mi-Carêmes and in front of the Centre to have a keepsake, along with their mask to take home.

Fudge Making Acadian Experience

Learn to make fudge and how it is important to the Acadian Tradition of La Mi-Carême.

$10 adult, $5 child, $25 family (includes entry to exhibit), Min 1 - Max 10/experience.
All ages but under 12 must be accompanied by an adult.
1 Hour in length at 11am and 1 pm daily

This workshop is designed as a fun one hour for all visitors, to learn about making fudge and how it is a part of the tradition of La Mi-Carême. Visitors will explore the exhibit on their own, participate in a demonstration of fudge making and leave with a sweet treat.

Mi-Carême for the Day Acadian Experience

Learn about the Acadian Tradition of La Mi-Carême, have an Acadian Mask Making and Culinary Experience, and see how traditional fishing takes place in the harbour.

$100 Adult (16+), $40 Child/Youth (6–15), $250 Family (2 adults, 2–3 children), Min 2 - Max 10/experience.
Includes lunch and exhibit entry. HST extra. Adult (16 and up), Child/Youth 6 - 15 (Under 12 must be accompanied with an Adult)
Full day - 9 - 3pm, 6 Hours (includes lunch)

This Acadian experience is designed as a fun full day adventure for the young and the adult. Participants will learn about the tradition of La Mi-Carême where they will explore the exhibit, and then enjoy being creative when they design their own traditional mask (adults) or a paint and design a paper mask (child/youth). The participants will also learn about Acadian Cuisine when they help prepare their traditional Acadian lunch including fudge for dessert. As you dine on the harbour front watching the boats steam by, your guide will relate stories of this small fishing harbour and answer all your questions on the fishery. You will finish off the day learning the art of Mi-Carême disguise and perhaps a few steps of the Acadian stepdance to the fiddle.

After this day of adventure, each participant will be leaving with traditional Acadian mask, a sampler of fudge, a full belly, photos and memories galore. An experience not be to missed.

It is necessary to register in advance for experiences.
To register, or for more information, call (902) 224-1016 or email info@micareme.ca.

Expérience « Création de masques de mi-carême »

Les jeunes apprennent la tradition acadienne de la mi‑carême.

25 $ pour deux heures d’instruction, min. 1 – max. 10 participants.
Pour jeunes entre 6 et 16 ans, présence parentale non requise.
Offert à 13h.

Cette activité de deux heures a pour but d’offrir aux jeunes l’expérience de la tradition acadienne de la mi-carême alors qu’ils pourront explorer l’exposition et développer leur créativité en dessinant et créant leur propre masque et le jumeler à un costume. Au terme de l’activité, les participants auront l’occasion de se faire photographier avec les autres mi-carêmes en avant du Centre pour garder, avec leur masque, un souvenir de leur aventure.

Expérience « Confection de sucre à la crème »

Apprenez comment faire le sucre à la crème et son importance dans la tradition acadienne de la mi-carême.

10 $ pour adulte, 5 $ pour enfant, 25 $ pour famille pour l’activité d’une heure, (inclue le prix d’entrée à l’exposition), min. 1 – max. 10 participants.
Tout enfant de moins de 12 ans doit être accompagné d’un adulte.
Offert quotidiennement à 11h et 13h.

Une heure de plaisir pour tous les visiteurs. Venez apprendre comment faire le sucre à la crème et pourquoi il fait partie de la tradition de la mi-carême. Les visiteurs seront libres d'explorer l'exposition à leur gré, de participer à la confection de sucre à la crème et de s'en aller avec une petite gâterie.

Expérience « Soyez une mi-carême pour la journeé »

Venez apprendre la tradition acadienne de la mi-carême, vivez la création de masque, goûtez la cuisine acadienne et voyez comment se passe la pêche traditionnelle dans le havre.

100 $ pour adulte (16 et plus) 40 $ jeunes (de 6 à 15 ans – enfants de 12 ans et moins doivent être accompagné d’un adulte) 250 $ famille (deux adultes et deux à trois enfants).
Une journée complète de 9h à 15h, inclue le repas du midi et le coût d’entrée à l’exposition, taxes en surplus. Min. 2 – max. 10 participants.
(Seulement les dimanches, lundis et mercredis de juillet et août)

Cette expérience acadienne est une journée complète remplie d’aventure pour jeune et moins jeune. Les participants apprendront la tradition acadienne de la mi-carême et pourront explorer l’exposition, créer leur propre masque (adultes) ou peinturer un masque de papier (enfant ou jeune). Les participants apprendront aussi la tradition acadienne dans la cuisine en aidant à la préparation d’un repas traditionnel acadien, y compris un sucre à la crème pour dessert. Alors que vous prenez votre repas sur le bord de l’eau en regardant les navires voguer, votre guide saura capturer votre imagination avec des histoires de ce petit havre de pêche et pourra répondre à toutes vos questions sur la pêche. Vous terminerez votre journée en apprenant l’art du déguisement des mi-carêmes et peut-être quelques pas de danse au son du violon acadien.

À la fin de la journée, chaque participant s’en ira avec un masque traditionnel acadien, du sucre à la crème, le ventre plein, des photos et des souvenirs sans pareil. Une expérience à ne pas manquer!

Il faut s'enregistrer à l'avance.
Pre-enregistrer au (902) 224-1016 ou info@micareme.ca.